What I Aspire To

I’m a stickler for Internet drama. It’s funny to me, really. What’s even more funny is when the drama is completely invented.

Take this particular blog. The blog author has decided it’s a good idea to edit and delete my posts. [EDIT: He even sent me e-mail! Yippee!] Well, you can go over there and decide for yourself if it was justified or not. If you’re too lazy, I can sum it up for you.

It goes a little like this. Blog author makes factual mistakes. Blog commenter corrects them. Blog author calls him a rude, arrogant buffoon, edits his posts, and then threatens to report said blog commenter for spam. Blog commenter points out the hypocrisy of the situation, having never insulted blog author once. Blog author deletes blog commenter’s posts.

This reminds me of a similar situation, on a different and unrelated creationist blog. There, too, my posts were edited and deleted. There, too, I never insulted the blog author. This seems, at the face of it, to be a trend. Pigeonhole dissenters as angry, rude, and insulting, and use that as an excuse to censor their responses. Nevermind, y’know, the actual content of their posts.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I was there…I don’t think ya should’ve been edited/deleted. But, I guess people can do whatever they want.

    I had a similar experience on a different blog with my full comments being deleted, but the snippets remained so they could all revel in their snarky responses to them. So, not only did they delete the entire context of my comment, the blog owner created what looked like my lack of answering as evidence that I didn’t know what I was talking about. But…when I did answer, he deleted the comment.

    This is how blog-style groupthink happens….almost makes me want to be a social scientist and start experimenting more.

    like your blog, by the way

    Reply

  2. I had a similar experience on a different blog with my full comments being deleted, but the snippets remained so they could all revel in their snarky responses to them.

    I really hate that. It’s especially dishonest, since posters can’t edit or delete their own posts.

    Reply

  3. People like that don’t need viewers anyway.

    The only thing I’m likely to do on my blog is: If in the event that someone corrects a spelling error, I will edit said error and pretend it never happened. XD

    Nah, I’m not that bad, but I understand the problem. I’ve seen it done on forums and I know it happens in blogs and throughout the internet. One just has to, unfortunately, ignore the ignorant people doing it.

    Or get back at them in the futrue. Your choice.

    Reply

  4. Or get back at them in the futrue.

    No correcting for you! 😀

    Reply

  5. Hey, at least you caught that! I did it a while back and no one noticed. -,-* Kind of makes the joke, well, not work.

    Reply

  6. I have a knack for doing that, it seems.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

